Taylor out, Chigumbura in


Sports Reporter

WHAT could be the reason behind the absence of Brendan Taylor, Sikanda Raza Butt, Greame Cremer, Sean Williams and Craig Ervine in the Chevrons team that faces Pakistan on Sunday at Harare Sports Club?
The four have been regulars in the national team, but this time around they are conspicuous by their absence.
Convener of selectors Walter Chawaguta was very diplomatic on the matter saying they considered players who were part of the training camp.
And Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) said the four decided not to be part of the team for reasons best known to them.
Taylor has been instrumental in the revival of the cricket players’ association, the Zimbabwe Cricketers Association.
The association will represent the plight of the cricket player who has been at the receiving end of bad corporate governance.
The players had to endure months of non-payment of match appearance fees and salaries among other grievances.
The players’ association was disbanded in 2015 and now, Taylor has been one of the forces behind its revival.
Raza has been playing cricket outside Zimbabwean borders, justifying his absence from the training camp.
A storm is brewing as fans and other concerned cricket lovers feel ZC is behind the absence of the players.
ZC announced the T20 squad to face the world’s best T20 playing nation, Pakistan, which saw the recall of Elton Chigumbura who last donned the Chevrons jersey in 2016.
The squad has the likes of Cephas Zhuwao, Brendan Mavuta, Tarisai Musakanda and Peter Moor, among others.
Zhuwao, who had a stint during the world cup qualifiers but could not stamp his authority on the crease, got another call-up that may see the Glen View-bred batman making a statement in the exciting T20s.
The team has experience in Hamilton Masakadza, Malcom Waller, Chris Mpofu and Kyle Jarvis.
The boycott by the quartet opens the door for new players who had been overlooked.
After Sunday’s match, Pakistan will face Australia the next day.
The T20s will run from July 1-8.
Zimbabwe T20 squad
Cephas Zhuwao, Chamu Chibhabha, Brian Chari, Tarisai Musakanda, Malcolm Waller, Peter Moor, Tendai Chisoro, Kyle Jarvis, Brandon Mavuta, Blessing Muzarabani, Chris Mpofu, Ryan Burl, Solomon Mire, Ryan Murray, Hamilton Masakadza, Wellington Masakadza, Elton Chigumbura


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here